|Press Releases Home|

For immediate release: Oct. 3, 2013
For further information contact:
Winnie Comfort or Tammy Kendig
609-292-9580

New Jersey Courts Ask Court Visitors to Complete Survey on Access and Fairness

Litigants, lawyers, jurors and others who visit the New Jersey Courts next week will be asked to participate in the Judiciary’s first Access and Fairness Public Survey, announced Judge Glenn A. Grant, acting administrative director of the Courts.

Designed by the National Center for State Courts, the survey measures the public's perception of how accessible and fair they find the courts during their visit.  

In announcing the survey, Judge Grant said, “The New Jersey Judiciary has led the way among state court systems in our efforts to ensure that the courts are accessible to everyone regardless of their ethnicity, gender, race, religion, physical condition, ability to speak English, economic status, sexual orientation or level of education. This survey will help us assess how we are doing.”

The survey will be administered from Monday, Oct. 7 to Friday, Oct. 11 in every Superior Court courthouse in the state, the Superior Court Clerk’s Offices at the Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex in Trenton, and in many off-site court facilities such as probation offices.

The survey will be available in English, Spanish, Arabic, Haitian Creole, Korean, Polish, Hindi, Gujarati and Portuguese. A video-recorded American Sign Language interpretation also will be available in every building for deaf and hard-of-hearing court users.

The survey project was developed by the Supreme Court Advisory Committee on Access and Fairness. Formed in 2011, the committee includes judges, Judiciary staff, and representatives from the New Jersey State Bar Association, Legal Services of New Jersey, the Sheriffs' Association of New Jersey, the state's surrogates' organization, Rutgers School of Law-Camden, the Asian Pacific American Lawyers Association of New Jersey, the Garden State Bar Association, and members of New Jersey's Hispanic legal community.

# # #

Note: Attached is a list of survey coordinators for each site for reporters who want to visit the facilities and observe the survey process.

Contacts for Statewide Press Release

Atlantic/Cape May Vicinage
Kathleen Obringer, Ombudsman/Community Liaison
609-374-2187
kathleen.obringer@judiciary.state.nj.us

Ellen Procida, Vicinage Training Coordinator
609-287-0728
ellen.procida@judiciary.state.nj.us

Bergen Vicinage
Jennifer V. Shultis, EEO/AA Officer and Ombudsman
201-527-2258
jennifer.shultis@judiciary.state.nj.us

Burlington Vicinage
Donna Mazzanti
609-518-2518
donna.mazzanti@judiciary.state.nj.us

Camden Vicinage
Kelly A. Law, Trial Court Administrator
856-379-2231
kelly.law@judiciary.state.nj.us

Cumberland/Gloucester/Salem Vicinage
Mark Sprock, Trial Court Administrator
856-453-4686
mark.sprock@judiciary.state.nj.us

Essex Vicinage
Kimberly Cicala, Ombudsman
973-693-5728
kimberly.cicala@judiciary.state.nj.us

Hudson Vicinage
Gerald A. Buccafusco, Trial Court Administrator
201-795-6604
gerald.buccafusco@judiciary.state.nj.us

Mercer Vicinage
Alfred Federico, Criminal Division Manager
609-571-4104
alfred.federico@judiciary.state.nj.us

Middlesex Vicinage
Betty Agin
732-519-3452
betty.agin@judiciary.state.nj.us

Monmouth Vicinage
Assignment Judge  Lawrence M. Lawson
732-677-4100
lawrence.lawson@judiciary.state.nj.us

Andrew M. Graubard, Trial Court Administrator
732-677-4212
andrew.graubard@judiciary.state.nj.us

Morris/Sussex Vicinage
Rashad Shabaka-Burns, Trial Court Administrator
973-656-3999
olivia.delvalle-perez@judiciary.state.nj.us

Ocean Vicinage
Ann Marie Fleury, Ombudsman
732-288-7212
annmarie.fleury@judiciary.state.nj.us

Passaic Vicinage
Dawn R. Thomas, Assistant Civil Division Manager
973-247-8390
dawn.thomas@judiciary.state.nj.us

Somerset/Hunterdon/Warren Vicinage
Christine Murzdeck
908-203-6151
christine.murzdeck@judiciary.state.nj.us

Union Vicinage
Linda Wiggins, Ombudsman
908-659-4644
linda.wiggins@judiciary.state.nj.us

Superior Court Clerk’s Office
Elisabeth Ann Strom, Chief, Superior Court Clerk’s Office
609-292-5293
elisabeth.strom@judiciary.state.nj.us

 

 

 

Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © New Jersey Judiciary