|Press Releases Home|

Volunteers Appointed to Attorney Ethics Committees

For immediate release: September 23, 2010
For further information contact:
Winnie Comfort or Tammy Kendig

Charles Centinaro, director of the New Jersey Office of Attorney Ethics (OAE), has announced the appointment of 146 attorneys and other citizens to the state’s 18 District Ethics Committees. These committees investigate and prosecute ethics cases involving New Jersey attorneys.

As members of the District Ethics Committees, the volunteers will be called on to perform a number of duties. All members participate in regular monthly committee meetings. Additionally, attorney members investigate grievances docketed by the committee. If their initial investigation finds grounds for a formal complaint, the matter is heard by a panel of committee members comprising two attorneys and one public member. Volunteers serve for a four-year term.

“The participation of these volunteer attorneys and public members is critical to the attorney disciplinary system and helps to ensure the integrity of the legal profession in New Jersey,” said Centinaro.  “We are fortunate that so many citizens are willing to donate their time and efforts to this important work.”

The committees are supported and overseen by the OAE, and any recommended sanction is reviewed by the state’s Disciplinary Review Board. Final discipline is imposed by the Supreme Court of New Jersey, which reviews sanctions recommended from below.
The OAE maintains a comprehensive Web site, which can be accessed through the Judiciary Web site at njcourtsonline.com. In addition, clients wishing to file a grievance can call the automated OAE hotline at 1-800-406-8594. Callers need to enter the attorney’s office zip code to receive contact information for the secretary of the appropriate district committee.

The Supreme Court imposed final discipline on 148 attorneys last year. In addition, the Court issued 25 emergent sanctions to protect the public while discipline charges were pending.

Currently there are 570 volunteers serving on the District Ethics Committees. Please see the attached list for the names and hometowns of the new committee members.


District I
(Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland and Salem counties)

A. Steven Fabietti of Vineland
Carol N. Goloff of Northfield
Joseph A. Levin of Atlantic City
Katherine Marie Morris of Atlantic City
Douglas K. Walker of Ocean City
Christine Ward Garrison of Millville
William J. Hughes, Jr., of Atlantic City
Rona Zucker Kaplan of Atlantic City
Roseann Sellani of Bridgeton

District IIA
(Bergen County – North)

Lisa R. Aljian of Paramus
Kathleen A. Hart of Livingston
Daniel P. Mc Nerney of Hackensack
David M. Repetto of Hackensack
David Torchin of  Hackensack
Paul Berberich of Cresskill
Aimee Ennis of Saddle Brook

District IIB
(Bergen County – South)

Jennifer M. Blum of Hackensack
Mark F. Heinze of Hackensack
Salvador H. Sclafani of Hackensack
Adam B. Schwartz of Hackensack
Margarita Velez-McEvoy of Dumont

District IIIA
(Ocean County)

Terry F. Brady of  Toms River
Laura M. Halm of Lakewood
Glenn D. Kassman of Point Pleasant
Kenneth T. Palmer of Toms River
Tara Redmond of Toms River
Robert J. Ritacco of Toms River
Eleanore A. Rogalski of Toms River
Carol Reynolds Wentworth of Lanoka Harbor
Lynne A. Dunn of Toms River
Alton D. Kenney of Brick

District IIIB
(Burlington County)

Karen Amacker of Moorestown
Theresa D. Brown of Willingboro
Mark Caira of Westmont
Colleen McGuigan of Moorestown
Cindy M. Perr of Trenton
Stephanie S. Shreter of Mount Holly
Michael J. Wietrzychowski of Cherry Hill
Gerald S. Lord of Moorestown
Ralph A. Jacobs of Haddonfield
Anne C. Singer of Haddonfield

District IV
(Camden and Gloucester counties)

Frank D. Allen of Haddonfield
LaTonya N. Bland of Mount Laurel
Carlos M. Bollar of Haddonfield
Marc I. Bressman of Cherry Hill
Daniel Q. Harrington of Cherry Hill
Andrew J. Karcich of Voorhees
Joy A. Pearson-Schneck of Woodbury
Mark A. Rinaldi of Berlin
Jason Sunkett of Cherry Hill     
Andrea P. Clearkin of Sewell
Mercedes Stewart of Camden
Diane C. Dailey of Cherry Hill

District VA
(Essex County – Newark)

Cynthia S. Betz of Newark
Frank J. DeAngelis of Newark
Lan Hoang of Newark
Jonathan M. Peck of Newark
Jose R. Rivera-Benitez of Newark
Kenneth J. Sheehan of Newark
Jeffrey S. Soos of Newark
Natalie S. Watson of Newark
Marianne K. Avery of Montclair          

District VB
(Essex County – Suburban)

Louis David Balk of Union Twp.
Neil J. Dworkin of Irvington
Paula I. Getty of Newark
Nomi Colton-Max of South Orange

District VC
(Essex County – West)

Avion M. Benjamin of Newark
Cheryl H. Burstein of West Orange
Alexandra V. Gallo of Morristown
Stuart D. Minion of West Caldwell
Marcella Matos Wilson of West Caldwell
Daniel J. Zirrith of Livingston
Maurice Brown of Montclair
Kristin Kucsma of Livingston

District VI
(Hudson County)

Carolann M. Aschoff of Jersey City
Susan Ferraro of Bayonne
Kevin J. Purvin of North Bergen
Susan B. Gyss of Secaucus
Alan Molina of Union City
John T. Sullivan of Jersey City
Michael D. Witt of Secaucus
James J. Feeney of Jersey City
James R. Hallaway of  Kearny

District VII
(Mercer County)

Douglass L. Derry of Princeton
Brian J. Duff of Hamilton Square
Jennifer Weisberg Millner of Lawrenceville
Wendy M. Rosen of Pennington
Jennifer D. Zoschak of Lawrenceville
Herbert K. Ames of Crosswicks
Bruce A. Weise of Pennington
Jerome A. Ballarotto of Trenton
Stephen M. Orlofsky of Princeton

District VIII
(Middlesex County)

Kim Marie Connor of Newark
Kimberly Catherine Almasy of Woodbridge
Anne M. Breslin of Piscataway
Carlos Diaz-Cobo of East Brunswick
Howard Duff of Woodbridge
Michele G. Haas of New Brunswick
Kathleen Killion of North Brunswick
William C. Cagney of New Brunswick
Vincent E. Gentile of Princeton

District IX
(Monmouth County)

Marcie L. Mackolin of West Long Branch
Anne J. O’Connor of Freehold
Teri O’Connor of Monmouth Beach
A Patrick Nucciarone of Wall

District XA
(East Morris/Sussex counties)

Robert M. Vinci of Florham Park
Adam G. Brief of Morris Plains
Colleen M. Cunningham of Newton
Joseph W. Grather of Morristown
Devanshu L. Modi of Florham
Susan B. Reed of Succasunna

District XB
(West Morris/Sussex counties)

Loretta A. Castrovinci of Morristown
Robert D. Correale of Morristown
Charles D. Craig of Morristown
Alison C. Leslie of Morristown
John C. Maloney, Jr. of Florham
H. Lockwood Miller of Morristown
Thomas R. Caines of Newton
Sarah R. Epstein of Morristown

District XI
(Passaic County)

Nadia Kahf of Haledon
Joseph C. Perconti of North Haledon
Linda Couso Puccio of Wayne
Linda H. Samson of Wayne
Terence M. Scott of Clifton
Manuel Quiles of Paterson
Toni Belford Damiano of Little Falls
Harry D. Norton, Jr. of West Paterson
Jeffrey J. Trapanese of Little Falls

District XII
(Union County)

Bruce H. Bergen of Cranford
Robert J. Logan of Union
Susan B. McCrea of Westfield
Katherine A. Suplee of Union
Glen J. Vida of Springfield
Elizabeth A. Weiler of Cranford
Adam J. Rowen of Elizabeth
Jodi Lee Alper of Roseland
Frederick B. Polak of Roseland
Ruth V. Simon of Parsippany

District XIII
(Hunterdon, Somerset and Warren counties)

Jeralyn L. Lawrence of Bridgewater
William E. Mandry of Phillipsburg
Michael J. Rogers of Somerville
Amy Z. Shimalla of Warren Twp.
Daniel C. Soriano, Jr. of Somerville
Joseph M. Carducci of Phillipsburg
John M. Bowens of Florham Park
William E. Staehle of Morris Plains

Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © New Jersey Judiciary