|Press Releases Home|

Volunteers in Attorney Ethics System Conclude Terms of Service

For immediate release: September 2, 2010
For further information contact:
Winnie Comfort or Tammy Kendig

The Supreme Court will issue certificates of thanks to 99 volunteers who are concluding their four-year terms on the state’s 18 district ethics committees, announced Charles Centinaro, director of the Office of Attorney Ethics (OAE). The district ethics committees investigate and prosecute ethics cases involving New Jersey attorneys.

“Because of your selfless and untiring contribution of time and talent in the performance of your duties, the Judiciary, the legal profession and the citizens of New Jersey are assured a higher degree of accountability, legal competence and ethical conduct from those who serve the public in the practice of law,” the certificate reads in part.

There are 572 attorneys and public members who volunteer on the committees. A list of the names and hometowns of the departing members is attached.

The district ethics committees are made up of attorneys and public members. Attorney members investigate and, if necessary, prosecute grievances docketed with the committee. Public members serve together with two attorneys on three-member panels that decide cases where formal complaints have been filed after investigations.

The OAE oversees the state’s 18 DECs. Any sanction recommended by a panel is reviewed by the state’s Disciplinary Review Board. Final discipline is imposed by the New Jersey Supreme Court, which reviews sanctions recommended from below.

The OAE maintains a comprehensive website, which can be accessed through the Judiciary Web site at njcourtsonline.com. In addition, clients who wish to file a grievance can call the automated OAE hotline at 1-800-406-8594. Callers need to enter the attorney’s office zip code to receive contact information for the secretary of the appropriate district committee.

The Supreme Court imposed final discipline on 148 attorneys last year. In addition, the Court issued 25 emergent sanctions to protect the public while discipline charges were pending.


(Term ended August 31, 2010)

District I
(Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland and Salem Counties)

Richard J. Albuquerque, Esq., chair, of Egg Harbor Township
James B. Arsenault, Jr., Esq., of Cape May Court House
Epiphany J. McGuigan, Esq. of Atlantic City
Benjamin M. Podolnick, Esq. of Northfield
Robert A. Woodruff, Sr. of Elmer

District IIA
(Bergen County – North)

Robert M. Biagiotti, Esq., chair, of Hackensack
Frank J. LaRocca, Esq. of Glen Rock
Joel J. Reinfeld, Esq. of Englewood Cliffs
Robert A. Schandler, Esq. of Cliffside Park
Linda H. Schwager, Esq. of Oakland
Beth Politi of Montvale

District IIB
(Bergen County – South)

Joseph R. Donahue, Esq., chair, of River Edge
Bruce L. Atkins, Esq. of Hackensack
Patricia Ann Kieck, Esq. of Hackensack
Sean Mack, Esq. of Hackensack
Sheila O’Shea Melli of Ridgewood

District IIIA
(Ocean County)

Kevin E. Young, Esq., chair, of Normandy Beach
Robert D. Budesa, Esq. of Toms River
Scott W. Kenneally, Esq. of Brick
Christine L. Matus, Esq. of Toms River
Ronald E. Prusek, Esq. of Toms River
Shirley Quinones, Esq. of Toms River

District IIIB
(Burlington County)

William R. Powers, Jr., Esq., chair, of Moorestown
Roger Lai, Esq. of Haddonfield
John O. Poindexter, Esq. of Moorestown
Robert R. Prisco, Esq. of Riverside
Mark P. Tarantino, Esq. of Mt. Holly
Julie A. Williamson, Esq. of Moorestown
Randi A. Wolf, Esq. of Moorestown
Thomas McCue of Roebling

District IV
(Camden and Gloucester Counties)

Dina Gattuso, Esq., chair, of Blackwood
Daniel J. DiStasi, Esq. of Cherry Hill
Bruce A. Gunther, Esq. of Haddon Heights
Wayne E. Natale, Esq. of Moorestown
Kathleen P. Stockton, Esq. of Haddonfield
Elizabeth M. Dunlap of Marlton
Joseph R. Ford of Cherry Hill

District VA
(Essex County – Newark)

Gail Howie Conenello, Esq. of Newark
Benjamin C. Curcio, Esq. of Newark
Robert P. Donovan, Esq. of Newark
Mary B. Goldhirsch, Esq. of Newark
Donald W. Kiel, Esq. of Newark
Brian O. Lipman, Esq. of Newark
Robert S. Perelman of West Caldwell

District VB
(Essex County – Suburban Essex)

Michael I. Berliner, Esq. of Livingston
Betsy W. Bresnick, Esq. of Roseland
Maria A. Cestone, Esq. of West Orange
William J. Fitzsimmons, Esq. of Maplewood
Brian R. Lehrer, Esq. of Morristown
Christopher K. Williams, Esq. of Newark

District VC
(Essex County – West Essex)

David E. Maitlin, Esq., chair, of West Orange
Kathleen Barnett Einhorn, Esq. of Livingston
Sheryl Gandel Mazur, Esq. of West Caldwell
Jonathan R. Mehl, Esq. of Rutherford
Thomas J. Morgan, Esq. of Fairfield
Lorelle N. Michelson, M.D. of Englewood

District VI
(Hudson County)

Angela C. Femino, Esq., chair, of Kearny
Joseph Cicala, Esq. of Nutley
Anthony V. D’Elia, Esq. of Secaucus
Richard W. Mackiewicz, Jr., Esq. of Hoboken
Brian J. Neary, Esq. of Hoboken
John A. Young, Jr., Esq. of Jersey City
Cheryl Baker of Kearny
William L. Blevins of Kearny

District VII
(Mercer County)

Andrew Bayer, Esq., chair, of Trenton
Thomas W. Eschleman, Esq. of Newark
Jeanette Estremera, Esq. of Lawrenceville
Michelle Warner Hammel, Esq. of Trenton
Azzemeiah R. Vazquez, Esq. of Trenton
Anne Skalka of Lawrenceville

District VIII
(Middlesex County)

Edward R. Weinstein, Jr., Esq., chair, of East Brunswick
Paula A. Menar, Esq. of New Brunswick
Melissa B. Zemsky, Esq. of Mountainside
Chris Flood of Dunellen

District IX
(Monmouth County)

Ronald T. Catelli, Esq., chair, of Red Bank
Gary P. McLean, Esq. of Freehold
Daniel J. O’Hern, Jr., Esq. of Shrewsbury
Reverend Bernard D. Oates of Neptune

District XA
(East Morris/Sussex Counties)

Mark M. Tallmadge, Esq., chair, of Morristown
Thomas F. Dorn, Jr., Esq. of Denville
Karin Duchin Haber, Esq. of Florham Park
Richard G. Bourque of Newton

District XB
(West Morris/Sussex Counties)

Patricia L. Veres, Esq., chair, of Denville
Kevin E. Barber, Esq. of Morristown
Linda S. Mirsky Brenneman, Esq. of Florham Park
David C. Donohue, Esq. of Fairfield
Karen H. Moriarty, Esq. of Morristown
Lynn Litwin Ross of Madison
Len Schrader of Long Valley

District XI
(Passaic County)

Michael P. DeMarco, Esq., chair, of North Haledon
Michelle Katich, Esq. of Clifton
Carl A. Mazzie, Esq. of Totowa
Kevin D. Sisco, Esq. of Wayne
Francis G. VanLeeuwen of Totowa

District XII
(Union County)

(No outgoing members)

District XIII
(Hunterdon, Somerset and Warren Counties)

Nadine Maleski, Esq., chair, of Flemington
Ada H. Carro, Esq. of Alpha
Steven B. Fuerst, Esq. of Roseland
Bonnie M. Weir, Esq. of Bridgewater
Florence M. Cook of Far Hills

Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © New Jersey Judiciary