|Press Releases Home|

For immediate release: August 20, 2007
For further information contact: Winnie Comfort, Tamara Kendig

Volunteers in Attorney Ethics System Conclude Terms of Service

The Supreme Court will issue certificates thanking 107 volunteers who are concluding their four-year terms on the state's 17 district ethics committees, announced David E. Johnson Jr., director of the Office of Attorney Ethics (OAE). The district ethics committees investigate and prosecute ethics cases involving New Jersey attorneys.

"Because of your selfless and untiring contribution of time and talent in the performance of your duties, the Judiciary, the legal profession and the citizens of New Jersey are assured a higher degree of accountability, legal competence and ethical conduct from those who serve the public in the practice of law," the certificate reads in part.

Currently there are 494 attorneys and public members who volunteer on the committees. Please see the attached list for the names and hometowns of the departing members.

The district ethics committees are made up of attorneys and public members. Attorney members investigate and, if necessary, prosecute grievances docketed with the committee. Public members serve together with two attorneys on three-member panels that decide cases where formal complaints have been filed after investigations.

The state's 17 district ethics committees are overseen by the OAE. Any sanction recommended by the panel is reviewed by the state's Disciplinary Review Board. Final discipline is imposed by the New Jersey Supreme Court, which reviews sanctions recommended from below.

The OAE maintains a comprehensive Web site, which can be accessed through the Judiciary Web site at njcourtsonline.com. In addition, clients wishing to file a grievance can call the automated OAE hotline at 1-800-406-8594. Callers can obtain contact information for the secretary of the appropriate district committee by entering the zip code of the attorney's office.

The Supreme Court imposed final discipline on 123 attorneys last year. In addition, the Court issued 20 emergent sanctions to protect the public while discipline charges were pending.

Outgoing Ethics Members

District I
(Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland and Salem Counties)

     Donald R. Charles, Jr., Esq. of Ocean City, Chair
     Tracey Furno Oandasan, Esq. of Woodstown
     Nancy L. Ridgway, Esq. of Linwood
     Anthony A. Swan, Esq. of Atlantic City
     John W. Tumelty, Esq. of Palermo
     Jennifer R. Webb, Esq. of Millville
     Donald A. Wadsworth of Northfield
     James V. Wray of Pleasantville
District IIA
(North Bergen County)

     Jeffrey L. Clutterbuck, Esq. of Ridgewood
     John P. Wallace, Esq. of Ridgewood
     Bettina Kretz of Saddle River
     Nancy Cronk Peet of Midland Park
District IIB
(South Bergen County)

     Salvatore A. Giampiccolo, Esq., of Ridgewood, Chair
     Daniel M. Eliades, Esq. of Rochelle Park
     Jason Errol Foy, Esq. of Hackensack
     Janet B. Lurie, Esq. of Hackensack
     James X. Sattely, Esq. of Hackensack
     Ilana Volkov, Esq. of Hackensack
     Joseph M. Valenzano, Jr. of Woodcliff Lake
District IIIA
(Ocean County)

     Kenneth B. Fitzsimmons, Esq. of Point Pleasant, Chair
     Debra M. Himber, Esq. of Forked River
     Jeff J. Horn, Esq. of Toms River
     Peter J. VanDyke, Esq. of Toms River
     Robert B. O'Brien, Jr. of Bay Head
District IIIB
(Burlington County)

     Michael A. Taylor, Esq. of Mount Laurel, Chair
     Michael A. Bonamassa, Esq. of Marlton
     Michelle Lee Corea, Esq. of Mount Laurel
District IV
(Camden and Gloucester Counties)

     David A. Haworth, Esq. of Voorhees
     Christine P. O'Hearn, Esq. of Westmont
     William S. Skinner, Esq. of Cherry Hill
     Mary C. Trace, Esq. of Woodbury
     William R. Carter of Williamstown
District VA
(Essex County - Newark)

     Christopher M. Farella, Esq. of Westfield, Chair
     Jeffrey Bernstein, Esq. of Newark
     Christopher J. Dalton, Esq. of Newark
     Clement Jude Farley, Esq. of Newark
     Lisa D. Love, Esq. of Newark
     Hope Allen of Newark
     Harold L. Bernstein of Newark
     Danielle A. Smith of Newark
District VB
(Essex County - Suburban Essex)

     Marc D. Garfinkle, Esq. of Maplewood, Chair
     Francis X. Dee, Esq. of Newark
     Phillip J. Duffy, Esq. of Newark
     Frederick Evan Gerson, Esq. of Florham Park
     Elizabeth Kronisch, Esq. of Roseland
     Lisa A. Lehrer, Esq. of West Orange
     Marsha Papanek Long, Esq. of Short Hills
     Ricki Anne Sokol, Esq. of West Orange
     Janet Armuth Wolkoff, Esq. of South Orange
     James Clark, D.D.S. of Short Hills
District VC
(Essex County - West Essex)

     Harrison J. Gordon, Esq. of Springfield, Chair
     Angelo Cifelli, Jr., Esq. of Nutley
     Nancy S. Feinberg, Esq. of South Orange
     Alexander J. Graziano, Esq. of Verona
District VI
(Hudson County)

     Honorable Mary K. Costello, J.S.C. of Kearny, Chair
     Michael J. Dillon, Esq. of Jersey City
     Paula J. Mercado, Esq. of Parsippany
     Marybeth Rogers, Esq. of Fairview
     Nadya M. Zerquera, Esq. of Union City
     John R. Raslowsky, II of Hoboken
District VII
(Mercer County)

     Keith P. Jones, Esq. of Princeton, Chair
     Edith Saviola Brower, Esq. of Trenton
     Scott A. Krasny, Esq. of West Trenton
     Rachel Jeanne Lehr, Esq. of Trenton
     Mitchell A. Livingston, Esq. of West Trenton
     Linda Mack, Esq. of Lawrenceville
     Mala S. Marayanan, Esq. of Trenton
     Frans M. Djorup of Princeton
District VIII
(Middlesex County)

     Howard Duff, Esq. of Woodbridge, Chair
     Honorable Barnett E. Hoffman, J.S.C. (Ret.) of North Brunswick
     Allan Marain, Esq. of New Brunswick
     Ellen F. Schwartz, Esq. of East Brunswick
     Charles J. Soos, Esq. of Hopewell
     Mabel J. Casagrand of Metuchen
     Arthur A. Gross of Woodbridge
District IX
(Monmouth County)

     Daniel L. Weiss, Esq. of Freehold, Chair
     Julie Dasaro Drescher, Esq. of Belford
     David P. Levine, Esq. of West Long Branch
     Melissa A. Keale of Fair Haven
District X
(Morris and Sussex Counties)

     J. Michael Riordan, Esq. of Florham Park, Chair
     Moly K. Hung, Esq. of Madison
     Henry Ellis Klingeman, Esq. of Florham Park
     Fredric M. Knapp, Esq. of Morristown
     Kevin Thomas Kutyla, Esq. of Hopatcong
     Connie A. Matteo, Esq. of Morristown
     Laurie L. Newmark, Esq. of Morristown
     George D. Schonwald, Esq. of Parsippany
     Clifford J. Weininger, Esq. of Denville
     Richard J. Williams, Jr., Esq. of Morristown
     Susan King of Madison
     Richard W. King of Madison
     Carole O'Brien of New Vernon
District XI
(Passaic County)

     Ralph M. Fava, Jr., Esq. of Hawthorne, Chair
     Thomas M. Kaczka, Esq. of Boonton
     Robert Saul Molnar, Esq. of Wayne
     Cristobal Collado of Paterson
     Patricia M. Henry of Hackensack
District XII
(Union County)

     Gary D. Nissenbaum, Esq. of Union, Chair
     Linda S. Ershow-Levenberg, Esq. of Clark
     Michael J. Keating, Esq. of Cranford
     Patricia A. Mack, Esq. of Elizabeth
     Michael Margello, Esq. of Mountainside
     Mark B. Watson, Esq. of Springfield
     Andrea Mattingly of Berkeley Heights
District XIII
(Hunterdon, Somerset and Warren Counties)

     Sheryl M. Schwartz, Esq. of Warren, Chair
     Kevin P. Kovacs, Esq. of Bedminster
     David J. Desiderio of Pittstown

  Copyrighted 2007 - New Jersey Judiciary New Jersey Judiciary