|Press Releases Home|

For immediate release: October 10, 2006
For further information contact
Winnie Comfort,
Tammy Kendig

Volunteers Appointed to Attorney Ethics Committees


David E. Johnson, director of the New Jersey Office of Attorney Ethics (OAE), has announced the appointment of 117 attorneys and citizens to the state's 17 District Ethics Committees. These committees investigate and prosecute ethics cases involving New Jersey attorneys.

As members of the District Ethics Committees, the volunteers will be called on to perform a number of duties. All members participate in regular monthly committee meetings. Additionally, attorney members investigate grievances docketed by the committee. If their initial investigation finds grounds for a formal complaint, the matter is heard by a panel of committee members comprising two attorneys and one public member. Volunteers serve for a four-year term.

"The attorneys ethics system in New Jersey simply could not function without the contributions made by our volunteers," said Johnson. "We are grateful to all of our members for helping ensure that attorneys in this state conform to our high expectations for legal competence and ethical conduct."

The committees are supported and overseen by the OAE, and any recommended sanction is reviewed by the state's Disciplinary Review Board. Final discipline is imposed by the Supreme Court of New Jersey, which reviews sanctions recommended from below.

The OAE maintains a comprehensive Web site, which can be accessed through the Judiciary Web site at njcourtsonline.com. In addition, clients wishing to file a grievance can call the automated OAE hotline at 1-800-406-8594. Callers need to enter the attorney's office zip code to receive contact information for the secretary of the appropriate district committee.

The Supreme Court imposed final discipline on 145 attorneys last year. In addition, the Court issued 33 emergent sanctions to protect the public while discipline charges were pending.

Currently there are 494 volunteers serving on the District Ethics Committees. Please see the attached list for the names and hometowns of the new committee members.

District I
(Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland and Salem Counties)
Richard J. Albuquerque, Esq. of Atlantic City
James B. Arsenault, Jr., Esq. of Cape May Courthouse
Epiphany J. McGuigan, Esq. of Ocean City
Benjamin M. Podolnick, Esq. of Northfield
Robert A. Woodruff, Sr. of Elmer
District IIA
(North Bergen County)
Robert M. Biagiotti, Esq. of Hackensack
Edward G. Johnson, Esq. of Hackensack
Frank J. LaRocca, Esq. of Glen Rock
Joel J. Reinfeld, Esq. of North Bergen
Robert A. Schandler, Esq. of Cliffside Park
Linda H. Schwager, Esq. of Oakland
Henry B. Chernin of New Milford
Beth Politi of Montvale
District IIB
(South Bergen County)
Bruce L. Atkins, Esq. of Hackensack
Joseph R. Donahue, Esq. of River Edge
Patricia Ann Kieck, Esq. of Hackensack
Sean Mack, Esq. of Hackensack
Jose I. Carballo of Hackensack
Sheila O'Shea Melli of Ridgewood
District IIIA
(Ocean County)
Robert D. Budesa, Esq. of Toms River
Eli L. Eytan, Esq. of Lakewood
Laura M. Halm, Esq. of Lakewood
Scott W. Kenneally, Esq. of Brick
Christine L. Matus, Esq. of Toms River
Ronald E. Prusek, Esq. of Toms River
Kevin E. Young, Esq. of Toms River
District IIIB
(Burlington County)
Roger Lai, Esq. of Westmont
John O. Poindexter, III, Esq. of Moorestown
William R. Powers, Jr., Esq. of Moorestown
Robert R. Prisco, Esq. of Riverside
Mark P. Tarantino, Esq. of Mt. Holly
Julia A. Williamson, Esq. of Mt. Laurel
Randi A. Wolf, Esq. of Cherry Hill
Thomas McCue of Robeling
Robert C. Zmirich of Mt. Laurel
District IV
(Camden and Gloucester Counties)
Albert M. Afonso, Esq. of Cherry Hill
LaTonya N. Bland, Esq. of Mount Laurel
Daniel J. DiStasi, Esq. of Cherry Hill
Dina Gattuso, Esq. of Blackwood
Andrew J. Karcich, Esq. of Voorhees
Wayne E. Natale, Esq. of Woodbury
Kathleen P. Stockton, Esq. of Haddonfield
Donna M. Whiteside, Esq. of Camden
Elizabeth M. Dunlap, LCSW of Marlton
Joseph R. Ford of Cherry Hill
District VA
(Essex County - Newark)
Gail Howie Conenello, Esq. of Newark
Laura Helen Corvo, Esq. of Newark
Benjamin C. Curcio, Esq. of Newark
Robert P. Donovan, Esq. of Newark
Mary B. Goldhirsch, Esq. of Newark
Donald W. Kiel, Esq. of Newark
Darlene Lapola, Esq. of Newark
Mileidy Perez, Esq. of Newark
District VB
(Essex County - Suburban Essex)
Michael I. Berliner, Esq. of Livingston
Lisa A. Breen, Esq. of Maplewood
Betsy W. Bresnick, Esq. of Livingston
Heather Lorraine Brown, Esq. of Maplewood
Neil J. Dworkin, Esq. of Irvington
William J. Fitzsimmons, Esq. of West Orange
Paula I. Getty, Esq. of Newark
Vicki J. Isler, Esq. of Newark
Brian R. Lehrer, Esq. of Paramus
Christopher K. Williams, Esq. of Newark
District VC
(Essex County - West Essex)
Kathleen Barnett Einhorn, Esq. of Livingston
John R. Knodel, Esq. of Edison
Benjamin D. Light, Esq. of Montclair
David E. Maitlin, Esq. of West Orange
Sheryl Gandel Mazur, Esq. of West Caldwell
Jonathan R. Mehl, Esq. of Rutherford
Thomas J. Morgan, Esq. of Fairfield
Maurice Brown of Montclair
Lorelle N. Michelson, MD, FACS of West Orange
District VI
(Hudson County)
Joseph Cicala, Esq. of West New York
Anthony V. D'Elia, Esq. of Secaucus
Angela C. Femino, Esq. of Kearny
Richard W. Mackiewicz, Jr., Esq. of Hoboken
Brian J. Neary, Esq. of Hoboken
John A. Young, Jr., Esq. of Jersey City
Cheryl Baker of Kearny
William L. Blevins of Kearny
Robert F. Hahner of Ocean
District VII
(Mercer County)
Andrew Bayer, Esq. of Trenton
Thomas W. Eschleman, Esq. of Lawrenceville
Jeanette Estremera, Esq. of Lawrenceville
Michelle Warner Hammel, Esq. of Trenton
Azzmeiah R. Vazquez, Esq. of Trenton
Herbert K. Ames of Hamilton Square
Anne Skalka, CPA of Lawrenceville
District VIII
(Middlesex County)
Kim Marie Connor, Esq. of Newark
Paula A. Menar, Esq. of New Brunswick
James B. Smith, Esq. of Metuchen
Melissa B. Zemsky, Esq. of Springfield
Chris Flood of Perth Amboy
District IX
(Monmouth County)
Gary P. McLean, Esq. of Freehold
Daniel J. O'Hern, Jr., Esq. of Red Bank
Reverend Bernard D. Oates of Neptune
District X
(Morris and Sussex Counties)
Kevin E. Barber, Esq. of Morristown
Linda S. Mirsky Brenneman, Esq. of Morristown
David C. Donohue, Esq. of Fairfield
Thomas F. Dorn, Jr., Esq. of Denville
Karin Duchin Haber, Esq. of Florham Park
Lee Ann Pounds, Esq. of Morristown
Karen H. Moriarty, Esq. of Morristow
Judith S. Scolnick, Esq. of Florham Park
Mark M. Tallmadge, Esq. of Morristown
Patricia L. Veres, Esq. of Morristown
Robert M. Vinci, Esq. of Florham Park
Marc H. Zitomer, Esq. of Florharm Park
Richard G. Bourque of Newton
James McCrudden of Mountain Lakes
Lynn Litwin Ross of Madison
Len Schrader of Long Valley
District XI
(Passaic County)
Michael P. DeMarco, Esq. of North Haledon
Michelle Katich, Esq. of Clifton
Carl A. Mazzie, Esq. of Totowa
Linda Couso Puccio, Esq. of Wayne
Jane E. Salomon, Esq. of Paterson
Kevin D. Sisco, Esq. of Wayne
Francis VanLeeuwen of Totowa
District XII
(Union County)
Bruce H. Bergen, Esq. of Cranford
Susan B. McCrea, Esq. of Westfield
Elizabeth A. Weiler, Esq. of Cranford
Casey J. Woodruff, Esq. of Scotch Plains
Adam J. Rowen of Elizabeth
District XIII
(Hunterdon, Somerset and Warren Counties)
Santina M. Bombaci, Esq. of Warren
Ada H. Carro, Esq. of Alpha
Steven B. Fuerst, Esq. of Somerville
Daniel R. Guadalupe, Esq. of Somerville
Nadine Maleski, Esq. of Flemington
Michael J. Rogers, Esq. of Somerville
Albert D. Rylak, Esq. of Clinton
Bonnie M. Weir, Esq. of Bridgewater
Florence W. Cook of Far Hills

Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © New Jersey Judiciary