|Press Releases Home|

Chief Justice Names 5th Member for Essex County Freeholder District Commission

For further information contact
Winnie Comfort, AOC
(609) 292-9580
For release: Nov. 8, 2001

In accordance with N.J.S.A. 40:41A-118, Chief Justice Deborah T. Poritz today selected Geoffrey Gaulkin, Judge of the Appellate Division (retired), to serve as the fifth commissioner of the Essex County Freeholder District Commission. The commission is charged with the responsibility of realigning the freeholder boundaries in the county.

Judge Gaulkin served in the Superior Court from his appointment in April of 1973 until his retirement in September of 1995.

Judge Gaulkin, a Republican, graduated from Harvard College in 1956 and Harvard Law School in 1959. He served as law clerk for New Jersey Supreme Court Associate Justice Nathan L. Jacobs and was in private practice from 1960 to 1970. He was named Hudson County Prosecutor in 1970 and held that position until he was appointed to the bench.

Copies of the request from the Essex County Board of Elections to the Chief Justice and of her letter appointing Judge Gaulkin are available by fax from the public affairs office.

New Jersey Judiciary
Administrative Office of the Courts
P. O. Box 037
Trenton NJ 08625

Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © New Jersey Judiciary