Notice Home


Re: Defaults Scheduled for Review by the Disciplinary Review Board

The following matters have been certified to the Disciplinary Review Board as defaults, in accordance with R.1:20-4(f):

In the Matter of Thomas M. Murray Docket No. DRB 03-165
In the Matter of E. Lorraine Harris Docket No. DRB 03-168
In the Matter of Jon M. DeMasi Docket No. DRB 03-167
In the Matter of Kenneth L. Johnathan, Jr. Docket No. DRB 03-159
In the Matter of Philip L. Kantor Docket No. DRB 03-188
In the Matter of David Salvaggio Docket No. DRB 03-189
In the Matter of Howard A. Gross Docket No. DRB 03-190
In the Matter of Carl C. Bowman Docket No. DRB 03-192
In the Matter of Joan Gertsacov-Smith Docket No. DRB 03-207
In the Matter of Elliott D. Moorman Docket No. DRB 03-209
In the Matter of Allen C. Marra Docket No. DRB 03-212
In the Matter of Muhammed Ibn Bashir Docket No. DRB 03-219

These matters are scheduled to be reviewed by the Board on Thursday, July 31, 2003. R.1:20-4(f) provides that an attorney-respondent’s failure to timely file an answer “shall be deemed an admission that the allegations of the complaint are true and . . . provide sufficient basis for the imposition of discipline.” Although chances for a successful motion are limited, a motion to vacate the default may be filed with the Board by no later than July 21, 2003. MOTIONS RECEIVED AFTER THE DEADLINE WILL NOT BE REVIEWED BY THE BOARD. The motion should specify why the attorney-respondent failed to file a timely answer (including lack of notice) and should set forth any claimed meritorious defenses to the ethics charge. The motion must also be simultaneously served on the Director of the Office of Attorney Ethics and, where appropriate, the district ethics committee responsible for the underlying ethics matter. A certification regarding that service must accompany any documents filed with the Board.

Respondents may communicate with the Board by contacting the Office of Board Counsel at:

P.O. Box 962 Trenton, NJ 08625 Telephone: 609-292-1012

Dated: July 7, 2003
Mary J. Maudsley, Chair
Disciplinary Review Board

Copyrighted © 2001 - New Jersey Judiciary