Family Economic Mediation Pilot

At its November 8, 2000 Administrative Conference, the Supreme Court approved both the extension of the end date of the Family Economic Mediation Pilot from June 31, 2001 to December 31, 2001 and the expansion of the Pilot to include Ocean County. In Atlantic, Burlington, and Union Counties, referral to mediation occurs prior to the Matrimonial Early Settlement Program (MESP). In Bergen, Morris, and Somerset Counties, referral to mediation occurs for cases that are unresolved after participation in the MESP. Ocean County’s program will include the referral of cases to mediation both pre-MESP and post-MESP in order to test both referral times in one county. In all seven counties, parties may voluntarily request mediation at any time.

Richard J. Williams, J.A.D.
Administrative Director of the Courts
Dated: December 6, 2000

Roster of Mediators for Family Economic Mediation Pilot

Applications continue to be accepted for admission to the roster of mediators for the Family Economic Mediation Pilot Program. An applicant should be available to serve as a mediator in one or more of the seven counties that serve as pilot sites: Atlantic, Burlington, and Union, where referral to mediation occurs prior to the Matrimonial Early Settlement Program (MESP); Bergen, Morris, and Somerset, where referral occurs for cases that remain unresolved after participation in MESP; and Ocean, where referral to mediation occurs both prior to and after MESP. Under Rule 1:40-4(b), mediators participating in this program will generally be entitled to receive their market rate fee after the first three hours on a case, which shall be at no cost to the parties and which shall include the first mediation session. Note that admission to the roster does not constitute certification, and use of that term is prohibited.

Interested mediators who meet the program criteria set forth below should complete the application form available on the Judiciary’s home page ( or at the office of the Family Division Manager in each pilot county and return the completed application to:

Margaret M. Mahon, Esq.
Family Practice Division
Administrative Office of the Courts
PO Box 983
Trenton, NJ 08625


  Mediation Training

Successful completion of 40 hours of mediation training approved by the Joint Credentials Committee, or completion of a minimum of 25 hours of mediation training and an additional 15 hours within one year after admission to the roster.

Education/Professional Experience

1) a. Juris Doctor (or equivalent law degree);
> b. Admission to the Bar for at least seven years;
c. Licensed to practice law in the state of New Jersey; and
d. Practice substantially devoted to matrimonial law.


2) a. Advanced Degree in Psychology, Psychiatry, Social Work or allied Mental Health field, Business, Finance, or Accounting, or a CPA;
> b. At least seven years experience in the field of expertise; and
c. Licensed in New Jersey if required in the field of expertise.

Annual Continuing Education

Following completion of the total requirement of 40 hours mediation training, attendance at a minimum of four hours of annual continuing education as set forth under Rule 1:40-12(b)(3).

Application Review Process

Applications will be reviewed by a Joint Credentials Committee of the Supreme Court Committee on Complementary Dispute Resolution and the Supreme Court Family Practice Committee.

Richard J. Williams, J.A.D.
Administrative Director of the Courts
Dated: December 6, 2000

Notices to the Bar