Names of prospective jurors are randomly selected from lists of licensed drivers, registered voters, and filers of New Jersey gross income tax returns and filers of homestead rebate applications. Once your service is completed, you will not be eligible to be selected again for 3 years.
Jurors must reside in the county to which they are summoned, be citizens of the United States, be at least 18 years of age, read and understand the English language, and have never pled guilty to or been convicted of an indictable offense.
You may be summoned for any of three types of juror service: a Petit Juror, a Grand Juror, or a State Grand Juror. Each type of service is described briefly below.
Petit Jurors -- This is the most common type of juror service. Petit jurors hear evidence in either a criminal or a civil trial and render a verdict. Petit jurors serve for one week or for the duration of one trial, which may extend beyond one week. Juries are comprised of either twelve or six members. Petit jurors are only required to report on an as-needed basis and must call the telephone number for the recorded message or check the website each evening to obtain instructions on whether to report.
Grand Jurors -- A grand jury hears evidence against persons accused of crimes and makes determinations, based on the evidence presented, as to whether the person charged shall be required to face criminal charges. A grand jury consists of twenty-three members. If selected, you will serve one day per week for approximately 16 weeks.
State Grand Jurors -- A State grand jury performs the same functions as a grand jury but represents the twenty-one New Jersey counties rather than a single county. The State grand jury has statewide jurisdiction. State grand jurors receive a qualification questionnaire from the Warren County Jury Management Office but selection and service will take place in Trenton . If you are selected to report to Trenton , you will be notified of your reporting date at a later time and will receive further instructions.
There is no upper age limit. However, prospective jurors who are age 75 or older may request to be excused if they believe that jury service would present a hardship. No medical verification is required.
Yes. Jurors may request to have their service rescheduled when completing the qualification questionnaire -- stating the reason for the request on that form. Jurors will be notified if their request has been granted and will be sent another questionnaire six weeks before their new service date. A request to be rescheduled will only be granted once, unless there is a medical or family emergency.
Yes. You can request to be excused for medical hardship but you must provide a doctor's note with your completed qualification questionnaire.
No. Selection is random and only the person summoned may serve.
Yes. You may request to be excused for a child care hardship but the statute requires that you have care and custody of the minor child and that alternative care not be available.
College students may request to have their service rescheduled to a time when school is not in session.
If you have served as a juror in this county within the past three years you may request to be excused.
For information regarding closings or delayed openings at the Warren County Courthouse call the juror recording (908-475-4794), tune into radio stations WBUD (1260AM), WKXW (101.5FM), WAEB (B-104FM) OR WZZO (95.1FM), or access the judiciary's website at www.judiciary.state.nj.us/closings.htm
Petit jurors will receive $5.00 per day of service for the first three days and $40 per day for the 4th day and each day thereafter. Checks are processed every Friday and you will receive your check within 3 weeks of your service. If you serve beyond a week, you will receive more than one check. If your employer requires proof of attendance, an attendance letter will be provided at the completion of service.
Grand jurors will receive $5.00 for each day of service. One check will be received at the completion of service. If your employer requires proof of attendance, an attendance letter will be provided at the completion of service.
Jurors employed in a full time capacity by the State of New Jersey , a County, municipality or any agency or instrumentality of the State, including universities and public schools, receive their usual compensation during juror service and will not receive daily fees.