Chief Justice
Stuart Rabner

Acting Administrative Director of the Courts
Glenn A. Grant, J.A.D.

Richard J. Hughes Complex
25 Market Street
PO Box 037
Trenton, NJ 08625

Office of Communications and Community Relations

Winnie Comfort

Mike Mathis

Phone: (609) 292-9580

Fax: (609) 394-0182

| Back to JT Briefing Home |

Volunteers in Attorney Ethics System Conclude Terms of Service

The Supreme Court issued certificates of thanks to 99 volunteers who are concluding their four-year terms on the state’s 18 district ethics committees, announced Charles Centinaro, director of the Office of Attorney Ethics (OAE). The district ethics committees investigate and prosecute ethics cases involving New Jersey attorneys.

“Because of your selfless and untiring contribution of time and talent in the performance of your duties, the Judiciary, the legal profession and the citizens of New Jersey are assured a higher degree of accountability, legal competence and ethical conduct from those who serve the public in the practice of law,” the certificate reads in part.

There are 572 attorneys and public members who volunteer on the committees. A list of the names and hometowns of the departing members is attached.

The district ethics committees are made up of attorneys and public members. Attorney members investigate and, if necessary, prosecute grievances docketed with the committee. Public members serve together with two attorneys on three-member panels that decide cases where formal complaints have been filed after investigations.

The OAE oversees the state’s 18 DECs. Any sanction recommended by a panel is reviewed by the state’s Disciplinary Review Board. Final discipline is imposed by the New Jersey Supreme Court, which reviews sanctions recommended from below.

The OAE maintains a comprehensive website, which can be accessed through the Judiciary Web site at In addition, clients who wish to file a grievance can call the automated OAE hotline at 1-800-406-8594. Callers need to enter the attorney’s office zip code to receive contact information for the secretary of the appropriate district committee.

The Supreme Court imposed final discipline on 148 attorneys last year. In addition, the Court issued 25 emergent sanctions to protect the public while discipline charges were pending.


(Term ended August 31, 2010)

District I
(Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland and Salem Counties)
Richard J. Albuquerque, chair, of Egg Harbor Township
James B. Arsenault, Jr. of Cape May Court House
Epiphany J. McGuigan, of Atlantic City
Benjamin M. Podolnick of Northfield
Robert A. Woodruff,Sr. of Elmer

District IIA
(Bergen County – North)
Robert M. Biagiotti, chair, of Hackensack
Frank J. LaRocca of Glen Rock
Joel J. Reinfeld of Englewood Cliffs
Robert A. Schandler of Cliffside Park
Linda H. Schwager of Oakland
Beth Politi of Montvale

District IIB
(Bergen County – South)
Joseph R. Donahue, chair, of River Edge
Bruce L. Atkins, of Hackensack
Patricia Ann Kieck of Hackensack
Sean Mack of Hackensack
Sheila O’Shea Melli of Ridgewood

District IIIA
(Ocean County)
Kevin E. Young, chair, of Normandy Beach
Robert D. Budesa of Toms River
Scott W. Kenneally of Brick
Christine L. Matus of Toms River
Ronald E. Prusek of Toms River
Shirley Quinones of Toms River

District IIIB
(Burlington County)
William R. Powers, Jr., chair, of Moorestown
Roger Lai of Haddonfield
John O. Poindexter of Moorestown
Robert R. Prisco of Riverside
Mark P. Tarantino of Mt. Holly
Julie A. Williamson of Moorestown
Randi A. Wolf of Moorestown
Thomas McCue of Roebling

District IV
(Camden and Gloucester Counties)
Dina Gattuso, chair, of Blackwood
Daniel J. DiStasi of Cherry Hill
Bruce A. Gunther of Haddon Heights
Wayne E. Natale of Moorestown
Kathleen P. Stockton of Haddonfield
Elizabeth M. Dunlap of Marlton
Joseph R. Ford of Cherry Hill

District VA
(Essex County – Newark)
Gail Howie Conenello of Newark
Benjamin C. Curcio of Newark
Robert P. Donovan of Newark
Mary B. Goldhirsch of Newark
Donald W. Kiel of Newark
Brian O. Lipman of Newark
Robert S. Perelman of West Caldwell

District VB
(Essex County – Suburban Essex)
Michael I. Berliner of Livingston
Betsy W. Bresnick of Roseland
Maria A. Cestone of West Orange
William J. Fitzsimmons of Maplewood
Brian R. Lehrer of Morristown
Christopher K. Williams of Newark

District VC
(Essex County – West Essex)
David E. Maitlin, chair, of West Orange
Kathleen Barnett Einhorn of Livingston
Sheryl Gandel Mazur of West Caldwell
Jonathan R. Mehl of Rutherford
Thomas J. Morgan of Fairfield
Lorelle N. Michelson of Englewood

District VI
(Hudson County)
Angela C. Femino, chair, of Kearny
Joseph Cicala of Nutley
Anthony V. D’Elia of Secaucus
Richard W. Mackiewicz Jr.of Hoboken
Brian J. Neary of Hoboken
John A. Young Jr.of Jersey City
Cheryl Baker of Kearny
William L. Blevins of Kearny

District VII
(Mercer County)
Andrew Bayer, chair, of Trenton
Thomas W. Eschleman of Newark
Jeanette Estremera of Lawrenceville
Michelle Warner Hammel of Trenton
Azzemeiah R. Vazquez of Trenton
Anne Skalka of Lawrenceville

District VIII
(Middlesex County)
Edward R. Weinstein Jr., chair, of East Brunswick
Paula A. Menar of New Brunswick
Melissa B. Zemsky of Mountainside
Chris Flood of Dunellen

District IX
(Monmouth County)
Ronald T. Catelli, chair, of Red Bank
Gary P. McLean of Freehold
Daniel J. O’Hern Jr. of Shrewsbury
The Rev. Bernard D. Oates of Neptune

District XA
(East Morris/Sussex Counties)
Mark M. Tallmadge, chair, of Morristown
Thomas F. Dorn Jr., of Denville
Karin Duchin Haber of Florham Park
Richard G. Bourque of Newton

District XB
(West Morris/Sussex Counties)
Patricia L. Veres, chair, of Denville
Kevin E. Barber, of Morristown
Linda S. Mirsky Brenneman of Florham Park
David C. Donohue of Fairfield
Karen H. Moriarty of Morristown
Lynn Litwin Ross of Madison
Len Schrader of Long Valley

District XI
(Passaic County)
Michael P. DeMarco, chair, of North Haledon
Michelle Katich of Clifton
Carl A. Mazzie of Totowa
Kevin D. Sisco of Wayne
Francis G. VanLeeuwen of Totowa

District XII
(Union County)
(No outgoing members)

District XIII
(Hunterdon, Somerset and Warren Counties)
Nadine Maleski, chair, of Flemington
Ada H. Carro of Alpha
Steven B. Fuerst of Roseland
Bonnie M. Weir of Bridgewater
Florence M. Cook of Far Hills

Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © New Jersey Judiciary