|Essex Vicinage Home| |Customer Service Booklet Table of Contents|

Probation Division

60 Evergreen Place - 7th Floor
East Orange, NJ 07018
Automated Attendant (973) 395-3010
Receptionist (973) 395-3020

The Essex Vicinage Probation Division is the enforcement arm of the Court. Probation plays a vital role in accomplishing the mission of the court. The fair and just resolution of disputes can only be achieved when court orders are fully and fairly enforced. The constitutional rights of citizens, such as the rights to safety and property, are protected by effective supervision of probationers in the community. The following statement of the role of probation services supports and builds on the Judiciary mission statement and clearly sets forth the essential purpose of probation:

The role of probation is to promote the welfare and safety of our children, families, and communities in New Jersey by enforcing court orders, supervising offenders, monitoring behavior, and intervening to produce positive outcomes.

The Probation Division currently supervises more than 15,000 Superior Court cases and is also responsible for specialized cases such as Adult Intake, Supervisory Treatment, Pre-Trial Intervention, Domestic Violence, Sex Offenders, Drug Court, Newark Alliance for Compliance, and the Greater Newark Safer Cities Initiative.

A probation sentence may require an offender to pay fines or restitution, seek counseling for substance abuse or mental health or family problems. Probation officers also arrange and monitor a probationer's community service. Probation officers in Essex County collect more than $2.5 million court-imposed fees annually.

Volunteers in Probation: Essex Probation is looking for volunteers to work one-on-one with probationers. If this work sounds interesting to you, if you would like to assist an offender in need of supervision, (both juvenile and young adult), please contact us about our Volunteers in Probation (VIP) Program at 973-395-3020.

Child Support Enforcement Unit
212 Washington Street - Room 1109 Newark, NJ 07102
(973) 693-6400Probation's Child Support Enforcement Unit enforces child support orders. The unit monitors child support payments and seeks court action when those payments are overdue. Probation Officers use many techniques to ensure that overdue payments are made including: credit reporting; immediate income withholding; seizure of state and federal tax refunds, lottery winnings, and unemployment benefits; license suspension and Financial Institution Data Match (FIDM). The Probation Division oversees the collection of more than $90 million in child support payments annually.

Client Service
8:45 a.m. - 3:45 p.m. (Monday - Friday)

A child support representative is available to answer questions about your child support case. Each caseworker can be contacted by calling him/her directly. If he or she is not available, leave a voice mail message. Please leave the names of the parties, case number and a telephone number. Please be assured that all calls will be returned within 24 hours.

By dialing the automated attendant at 973-693-6400, information may be obtained concerning individual child support cases including information on hearings, adjournments, motions for modification, and the caseworker's name and telephone number. Information is available in English and Spanish. Child support representatives are available to discuss specific cases. For routine case or payment information it is best to call the 24-hour Child Support Hotline by dialing 1-800-621-KIDS.

The New Jersey Office of Child Support has an interactive Web Site that enables the public to get information about individual child support cases online. By going to www.njchildsupport.org you can find information about the case status and recent payments . When prompted, enter the case number (CS number) and enter the last 4 digits of the party's social security number.

Cashier Hours
8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. (Monday - Friday)
Payments may be made in person in the cashier department located on the 1st floor. For proper credit and identification, please include the case number on all payments and correspondence.

Address for mailed payments -- NJ Family Support Payment Center, PO Box 4880, Trenton, NJ 08650.
Address for correspondence -- Essex County Probation, PO Box 372, Newark, NJ 07101-0372.

Parents who owe or are owed child support should be aware of the following:

Child support is calculated according to the New Jersey Rules of Court and the Child Support Guidelines. The guidelines ensure that the income of both parents and special needs of the children are considered when calculating child support. Child support obligations may be automatically adjusted every two years to reflect changes in the cost of living index.

The Deadbeat Parents Punishment Act of 1998 is the federal legislation that makes it a felony for a parent to move to another state or country with the intention of evading child support payments if the debt has remained unpaid for over one year or is greater than $5,000.

Other collection and enforcement remedies include:

  • Immediate Income Withholding: All child support orders are subject to payment by income withholding collected through wages, unemployment benefits, worker's compensation, commissions, or retirement benefits.
  • License Suspension: If a child support bench warrant has been issued, the driver's license of the person owing child support may be suspended without prior notice. The person owing support may also face the suspension of a professional or occupational license if the payments are six months or more behind.
  • Asset Seizure: This method allows for a levy to be placed upon the financial account of the delinquent parent (i.e., checking or savings account) if the child support arrearage equals three months of payments.
  • New Hire Reporting: All employers are required to report information on all new employees to the state. This information is matched with information in the automated child support enforcement system (ACSES) and can automatically generate a wage withholding.
  • Credit Reporting: The name of any parent delinquent in payment, and the amount of past due support can be reported to credit reporting agencies.
  • Lottery and Tax Intercept: If a parent owes more than $1,000 in child support arrears and wins $600 or more, or is entitled to a federal or state tax refund, homestead rebate or property tax rebate, these funds may be intercepted and applied to the child support account.
  • Passport Denial: If a parent owes past due child support equal to or greater than $5000, a new passport or renewal can be denied by the U.S. Department of State.

Related Offices

Essex County Office of Child Support Enforcement, Hall of Records - Room 102, 465 Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd., Newark, NJ 07102, (973) 733-4703. (This office will assist with locating a parent or paternity testing prior to an order for child support being issued.)

Essex County Prosecutor's Office, 50 West Market Street, 3rd Floor Newark, NJ 07102, (973) 621-4700.

Essex County Sheriff's Office, 50 West Market Street, 2nd Floor Newark, NJ 07102, (973) 621-4111.

New Jersey Child Support Information Line, 1-877-NJKIDS1, or 1-877-657-4371.

Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © New Jersey Judiciary