|Back to Atlantic / Cape May| Probation Divison

SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT

Probation’s Child Support Enforcement Unit enforces child support orders. The unit monitors child support payments and seeks court action when those payments are overdue.

The role of this unit is the enforcement of court orders received from the Family Division of the Superior Court regarding the collection of child support, medical support and maintenance (alimony). The unit is not responsible for issues involving custody, visitation, equitable distribution or collection of other obligations. Specific responsibility and authority is governed by Federal Statutes Title IV-D and various regulations as defined in New Jersey Court Rules 5:6 and 5:7-4, 5:7-5.

TYPES OF ENFORCEMENT:

Wage Execution: In October, 1990, the State of New Jersey passed a law that required that all new child support cases or any orders changed after that date be paid by income execution. For cases already in existence, a 14 day delinquency must accrue before income can be attached. Executions can be done against all forms of income - wages, pensions, workmen's compensation, unemployment compensation, and others.

Court: Those who are self-employed, unemployed, or whose employment is unknown are scheduled for an enforcement hearing before a Hearing Officer. Usually a lump sum payment is requested when it is determined that the payor had the ability to pay the support order. When a payor who had been duly served with a summons does not appear for court hearing, a bench warrant for that persons arrest is issued. Bench Warrants are handled by a specialized unit of Support Enforcement Services who work along with a IV-D unit of the Sheriffs Office. A person who is arrested and brought to court may be held in jail until the child support arrears are paid in full, if that is appropriate. Also effective in collecting support monies is the Tax Offset process. Both federal and state laws provide that when a payee is a IV-D client and child support arrears reach a designated plateau, the case may be submitted to offset the payor's federal and state income tax refund and N.J.

Homestead Rebate:
This is particularly effective for reducing arrears owed to a state welfare agency, which must be satisfied before money can be forwarded to a non-welfare payee.

Credit Bureau: In 1990 the State of New Jersey began submitting cases with arrears in excess of $1,000.00 to credit bureau where the arrears are reported as outstanding debts.

Judgments: In 1992 title companies in New Jersey were given limited access to the child support system. Since any child support arrears over $1.00 are a Judgment by operation of law, this has been effective in collecting money owed when property is sold or when mortgages are re-financed.

All questions concerning the enforcement of spousal and child support orders should be directed to the appropriate county office.

[return to top]

LINKS


CHILD ENFORCEMENT
SUPPORT OFFICES

Atlantic County Child
Support Enforcement

1333 Atlantic Ave. (2nd Floor)
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
1-877-NJKIDS1 (1-877-655-4371). 


Cape May County Child
Support Enforcement

4 Moore Road
Cape May Courthouse, NJ 08210-1601
1-877-NJKIDS1 (1-877-655-4371). 


Hours of Operation
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
Monday to Friday

* Payments may be made in person Monday through Friday between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. at the Atlantic and Cape May Courthouses. For proper credit and identification, litigants should include the case number on all payments and correspondence.

Address for mailed payments:

NJ Family Support
Payment Center
Probation
PO Box 4880
Trenton , NJ 08650


Privacy Policy | Contact Us | © New Jersey Judiciary